Is there a way to not have the database cleared every time you save the configuration? It seems that any time you change the config, the only way to save it is to allow the database to be cleared. Unfortunately, this causes a huge headache and the need to re-edit all the urls I've changed. We're in testing right now, but even on a live site, this could cause hundreds of broken links if you've edited urls and then used the SEF url in a link on a page, let alone sending the url out for marketing purposes.
I'm at a loss as to why this would be necessary in the first place. The original Joomla urls are unique for each page. Any changed url I make also has to be unique as well.
Why not, if the config does change, run a script against the database to update the urls with the new settings, filters, etc. Then, display a list of changed urls after the save. If there are any issues, editing of these new changes could be done manually at that time.
Thanks,
Christian